The 25 Republicans Who Did Not Vote for John Boehner



Twenty-five House Republicans publicly opposed John Boehner by voting for another candidate for speaker during Tuesday’s public floor vote but ultimately failing to prevent the Ohio Republican from winning re-election to the leadership post.

Boehner collected 216 votes. Former speaker Nancy Pelosi, D-Calif., his closest rival, received 164.

This was the most ‘no’ votes cast against a speaker in the last century. One of those members — Rep. Brian Babin of Texas — voted “present,” which lowered the threshold for the number of votes Boehner needed to win the speakership.

Here are the GOP lawmakers who did not vote for Boehner:

  1. Rep. Justin Amash, Mich.
  2. Rep. Rod Blum, Iowa
  3. Rep. Dave Brat, Va.
  4. Rep. Jim Bridenstine, Okla.
  5. Rep. Curt Clawson, Fla.
  6. Rep. Scott DesJarlais, Tenn.
  7. Rep. Jeff Duncan, S.C.
  8. Rep. Scott Garrett, N.J.
  9. Rep. Chris Gibson, N.Y.
  10. Rep. Louie Gohmert, Texas
  11. Rep. Paul Gosar, Ariz.
  12. Rep. Tim Huelskamp, Kan.
  13. Rep. Walter Jones, N.C.
  14. Rep. Steve King, Iowa
  15. Rep. Thoma Massie, Ky.
  16. Rep. Mark Meadows, N.C.
  17. Rep. Rich Nugent, Fla.
  18. Rep. Gary Palmer, Ala.
  19. Rep. Bill Posey, Fla.
  20. Rep. Scott Rigell, Va.
  21. Rep. Marlin Stutzman, Ind.
  22. Rep. Randy Weber, Texas
  23. Rep. Daniel Webster, Fla.
  24. Rep. Ted Yoho, Fla.
  25. Rep. Brian Babin, Texas


Daily Caller


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here